2016 Founders Day Awards Honor Exemplary Staff Contributions

Eunice Stephens, MPH, w/ UCSF Chancellor Sam Hawgood, MBBS

Note: Eunice Stephens, MPH, adminstrative director of CTSI's Clinical Research Services (CRS) program and executive director of the Office of Clinical/Translational Research, was a recipient of the Chancellor's Award for Exceptional University Management.

Article via UCSF.edu

Eleven faculty and staff members received this year’s UCSF Founders Day Awards for their contributions in the areas of public service, exceptional service to UC San Francisco and excellence in nursing.

The awardees were honored at a luncheon Friday that showcased their accomplishments and celebrated the strong community they’ve helped build at UCSF.

“This event is one of UCSF’s great traditions – a time for us to pause and acknowledge our outstanding community … reflect on some of our remarkable accomplishments over the past year and acknowledge some exemplary individuals whose remarkable dedication makes UCSF the pre-eminent institution that it is,” said Chancellor Sam Hawgood, MBBS, in his opening remarks for the luncheon.

The following awards were given for 2016:

Chancellor Award for Exceptional University Management

Eunice Stephens
Executive Director, Office of Clinical/Translational Research

Eunice Stephens’ position at UCSF involves responsibility for programs solvency as well as overseeing Clinical Research Services operations at eight different research sites. One challenge she faced was the change in funding from the National Institutes of Health’s National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences. Stephens responded by developing innovative and creative ways to find partnerships and collaborations to support clinical research at UCSF.

“Eunice’s outstanding interpersonal skills, her effectiveness as a communicator, her deep knowledge of medical center and clinical research operations and her collaborative approach make her an invaluable asset to UCSF,” said Jennifer Grandis, MD, Associate Vice Chancellor of Clinical and Translational Research Director and Henry F. “Chip” Chambers, MD, in nominating Stephens.